La Nonna, Namly Place

I loveeee Italian food!! It’s one of my favourite cuisines. I can never get sick of pasta, especially those freshly-made and cooked al-dente. My dad has pampered my tastebuds and long advocated the benefits in eating fresh pasta. In his words “Is maggi mee or fresh mee pok nicer????” I guess maggi mee tastes good sometimes… but yes there’s that eggy bite in fresh pasta! And it’s always nice to know that your pasta was handmade instead of being pulled out of packets.

Anyway here’s La Nonna! Please head to the one at Namly Place, the food and service there is better. Best if you have a car. If you don’t, just take a 6-minute walk down Namly Avenue to get your stomach ready for a very homely Italianooo experience!!

They used to have a 50% off promotion for lunch which was VERY WORTH IT but it’s now changed to buy one main course, get one appetizer or dessert free [edit: back to 50% off the a la carte menu for weekday lunch!]. Less of a promotion if you’re a small eater, but good enough for the big ones.

I picked Vongole ($18) as an appetizer. Sauteed clams in white wine sauce, garlic and herbs. This was a bit too oily and buttery for my liking. Clams weren’t fantastic either. And my very silly friend hahaha did not want to share any of this so eating the whole pot of it is not very fun. Will try the Carpaccio next time!!

My main was Homemade Pappardelle with Chicken Liver and Black Truffle Sauce ($19). Yep you heard it, chicken liver!! Was feeling very adventurous that day. The pasta was cooked al dente, and it goes really well with the black truffle sauce, which was both fragrant and slightly smoky. Chicken liver… I don’t think you should all of it on the plate but it’s an interesting addition!

Friend had the Carbonara, which is just your typical carbonara. I forgot to take a picture I think he was too hungry! If you want a simple pasta dish not on the menu, just request and they’ll gladly whip it up.

Alternatively you can try their signature La Nonna Pizza – asparagus, mozzarella, parmesan, a sunny side up – it’s really interesting!

To round things off, this is the standard Tiramisu ($12). Should have ordered the  cheese platter ($16) hahaha I am so indecisive. Most tiramisus taste of the same standard to me, I can’t remember how this was! But it’s more worth it than the tarts imo, those tarts are tiny and bite sized.

Okay way too many words. Bon Appetit!!!

La Nonna Singapore Italian Restaurant
76 Namly Place
6762 1587
Opening Hours: 12pm – 2.30pm, 6pm – 10.30pm
http://wwww.lanonna.sg (the website is pretty chic!)

Leave a Reply

