Plain Vanilla Bakery

I don’t normally fancy cupcakes because they are overly sweet and they can be done pretty easily, but PV has won me over. PV’s a tiny little shop on the second floor of a Holland Village shophouse. You’ll miss it if you don’t know where it is, but boy, at the rate their cupcakes sell out every day, I hope more people don’t discover it!

Here’s what I tried my first time round:

Clockwise from left: Strawberry White Chocolate, Carrot, Dark Chocolate Ganache and Chocolate Peanut Butter (a special). Each cupcake costs $3.20, 6 for $18. The first 3 are standards that you’ll find everyday. They come up with seasonal flavours and bake brownies/ loaves and other things as well. Follow them on facebook/ twitter to get their live updates!

Dark Chocolate Ganache is promoted as their ‘least sweet’ cupcake. And I like it for that reason! Chocolate cake base with a layer of bittersweet ganache and covered with cocoa nibs. The bitterness and crunch of the nibs are something interesting, something you don’t usually see with cupcakes! Cake was moist as well, not too dry/ too sweet.

Another thing I love about PV. The mint-coloured logo I love that colour!! Strawberry White Chocolate is a moist vanilla cake with strawberry bits blended into the batter, which means you get the tart taste of strawberries in every bite. I’m not a fan of frosting, it’s way too sweet and sugary for me and this wasn’t entirely special!

My mum loves the Carrot cupcake! And I must say it is packed with wholesome goodness. I saw freshly grated carrots in a container on the countertop that day and I trust that a whole handful of it goes into this batter. You can see the little shreds of carrot and there are chopped walnuts as well, which makes the texture so varied. Also smelt so strongly of cinnamon. Cream cheese frosting was once again too sweet, but it complements the textured base well! Beautifully executed carrot cake compressed into a handy on-the-go size.

Last but not least, Chocolate Peanut Butter! Their mainstay is Chocolate Hazelnut, which is a chocolate cake with a nutella centre. This variant had a peanut butter centre and peanut butter frosting instead. I like both of it! This is less sweet though, since the salty peanut butter offsets the sweetness. Love how the chocolate cake is so dense and every bite screams good quality Varlhona chocolate! YUMMY. My little brother devoured this!

Go check them out! (: You won’t regret it I promise!

Plain Vanilla Bakery
34A Lorong Mambong, Holland Village, Singapore 277691. (We are on the second floor opposite Harry’s Bar and above El Patio Mexican Restaurant & Wine Bar.)
6465 5942
Tuesdays to Saturdays from 12pm to 8pm, and Sundays from 12pm to 6pm. Closed on Mondays.

Leave a Reply

