Saveur @ Purvis Street

Heard so much about this place ever since it was a coffee shop stall in East Coast Road. Lately in March, they decided to expand and move to new premises along Purvis Street. There just wasn’t enough space at the coffee shop. And judging from the permanent queues outside their outlet, it was the right move!

One thing I really admire about the Saveur team is their hard work, team work and dedication. They look so happy to be there! And they have managed to keep the prices exactly the same as they did at the coffee shop, which is really remarkable. A team that is in to let people enjoy food 🙂

Simple but pretty classy black and white decor. It’s a very casual place. Tables are also rather close to each other, so you’re likely to hear the other table’s conversation hahaha. I saw a couple, man decked out in a suit and lady in a glam dress, sipping a bottle of red wine as they savored their French food. Looking at them made me think that this was a fine-dining place hahaha.

Food here is something to shout about! Check out the presentation, the quality ingredients and the very tasty French-food-with-a-spin. Plus the low prices? SUPER AWESOME.

Angel Hair Pasta With Sherry Minced Pork And Sakura Ebi ($3.90).

My friend didn’t believe that pasta could be $3.90. So we just had to try it. I loved how flavorful this is! Definitely not a mains portion, but more for appetizers. Where’s the pork, you might ask? Minced into a paste which is very mild, but gives each strand of pasta a delightful taste. The ebi are so tiny and cute, but they are edible. Almost like the Chinese ha bi (dried shrimp).

Confit Of Duck With Orange Segment And Sauté Shittake ($8.90).

Yayyy always eager to try duck confit. Typical portions of this are at least $20, so I was definitely excited to have this. And I wasn’t disappointed. One of the better ones I’ve had, with the duck falling off the bone easily and melting away in your mouth. It’s also not too salty, which is GREAT. Mashed potato was smoooooth and tasty. Great companion to the duck.

There you go. To judge the size of da duck leg.

Crispy Pork Belly With 62.5degree Egg With Diced Vegetable ($10.90).

This 62.5 degree egg reminds me of my St Julien meal. Didn’t get to try it, but my friend looked really happy eating it! Nice wobbly and runny I shall eat it on my next visit. I personally don’t fancy pork belly but once again my friend happily gobbled everything up.

Have been wanting to try this place for the longest time, with my friends and I fantasizing about it during lectures over and over again. I’M SO GLAD I GOT TO TRY IT! The queues can be crazy long though, so try to catch them when it isn’t lunch hour/ dinner time. Won’t regret it!!!

5 Purvis Street
#01-04
Singapore 188584
6333 3121
12pm – 9.30pm daily

On a completely random note, their website is super cute. I clicked on the Saveur DNA tab and smiled to myself. How simple but how apt. God being the centre of the equation. Kudos to the team 🙂

2 responses to “Saveur @ Purvis Street

Leave a Reply

