Open Door Policy @ Tiong Bahru

Time to head back to hippy Tiong Bahru, not for coffee or cafes, but to have a cozy, modern European dinner. ODP’s opened by the Spa Esprit group. Must applaud them for the never-ending, wacky ideas they have – they’re the people behind 40 Hands, House, Skinny Pizza. I love how they’re all distinct, but the common factor you find in all of them is the close attention paid to design, detail and being different.

ODP’s menu is created by celebrity chef Ryan Clift of Tippling Club, which focuses on modern food and cocktail pairings. And I am thankful for ODP’s existence, because you get to see the creativity and the thought that goes into these dishes, and you get to savour food that are literally works of art. For the food that’s served here, considering the thought and ingredients that go into making it, the prices are quite decent!

Jerusalem artichoke veloute with white truffle oil ($14). This was so so good omg. Please do have it when you’re there!!! Creamy, creamy goodness. Veloutes are essentially sauces made by blending stock (chicken, fish, anything) together with a roux (equal parts of butter and flour).. but there are other variations as well.

If you like truffle, you’re in for a treat! I swear every mouthful you take has that strong, woody scent of truffle oil and it gives the smooth veloute a greater depth and a more interesting flavour. Yum!

Steak tartare with truffle mayo and potato chips ($19). This is the first steak tartare I’ve ever eaten in my life, so I’ve nothing much to compare against, but I’m guessing it was a decent first time experience. I liked the citrus-y taste of it, it was pretty refreshing! Chips were wayy too oily for my liking though, I think the bread goes with the tartare just fine.

Papaduck papadum with crusted duck fillets & mint yoghurt dip ($18). Asked our waitress what her favourite starter was and this was it. I think this is a little bit underwhelming… but at least it was executed decently! Duck slices, a little dry, which are coated in crushed papadums.

Wild mushroom risotto with truffle crumbs ($22). What’s a good risotto to you? I’m not a huge fan of risottos – GO PASTA – but I am a huge fan of mushrooms. This dish screams MUSHROOMS in your face. Smooth, rich and intense. I like how the rice grains were plump and al dente, yet each grain had managed to soak up the mushrooms that make up the dish.

Chocolate and pistachio souffle, creme anglaise ($15). Souffle arrived standing tall and proud, and we got way excited when our waitress slit the souffle and drizzled some of that custard (speckled with vanilla beans mind you) into the slit. Mmmmm. I personally was a bit disappointed because I couldn’t detect anything pistachio, and I could only get a slightly artificial pandan taste. The side of the cup was dusted with lots of chocolate powder though, while the souffle had a fab airy texture, so with the addition of all that creme anglaise, it was still rather enjoyable.

I love how stepping into ODP seems to transport you to another world. The streets outside are quiet, but inside it’s full of hustle and bustle. Also sort of feels like you’re walking into a hidden underground sort of establishment. What an adventure!

Service here is great – our waitress was chirpy and friendly, and also moved very fast haha. Love how non-pretentious this place is. Our table had a good view of the glass-walled kitchen, but the best views of the kitchen are from the bar, as per the lady in yellow. Next time I head there I’ll be at the bar. Watch out for me, I’ll be back here!

Remember to make your reservations by the way! This place gets filled up quick.

Open Door Policy
19 Yong Siak Street
6221 9307
Got their complex opening hours off their web – call up to check if unsure!
Lunch: 12 to 3:30pm
Dinner: 6pm to 11pm
Brunch: 11am to 4pm (Sat and Sun)
Closed on Tuesdays;
Fri and Sat – bar open till 12 midnight

Leave a Reply

