Tiong Bahru Bakery @ Raffles City

The latest bakery that everyone has been raving about! I stepped into the Tiong Bahru outlet after my visit to 40 Hands, but didn’t try anything then. It’s always refreshing to venture out on the streets to these places, but I’m glad TBB chose to open in Raffles City, it makes it really convenient to get a good pastry fix.

Met a friend for tea and we were both really stuffed from our lunches (dim sum at Royal China! More on that in the next post). So we took a look at the whole case of pastries and THIS caught our eye! And boy was it a good choice!

Chocolate Mendiant Tart ($6.50)- A sweet tart base, layered with figs, dried apricots, candied orange bits and nuts, cemented in with a honey + maple syrup paste, and topped with a very generous layer of chocolate ganache.  Tart was firm but also crumbled when it needs to. And while the whole thing might sound immensely sweet, I thought it was a good balance. Chocolate ganache was sooo smooth and sooo thick, I loved it. And well I’m a fan of figs and the chewy crunch they bring, so I really enjoyed every bite of this!

Will definitely return to try out more stuff – it’s been a good start!

.

Back to being natural. Greens and browns.

Seating area is large. It feels spacious yet cosy in its own way. And the fact that the area curves round the water fountain, I foresee an afternoon spent drinking coffee, sampling pastries and chilling out here.

Hello it’s my second visit!!! 

 

Tried the Chocolate Croissant ($3.20). So is it really the best in Singapore??? Well I wouldn’t go so far haha I don’t eat enough croissants to know. I got them to toast this for me, which made the top very crisp. The flakes just fell all over the table. The insides were moist and buttery, each layer was nice and distinct. Also sweet and salty at the same time, and neither too sweet nor too salty. I expected more out of the chocolate though! So dryyy.

Well. Still good. I’ve managed to pick out the good things from this place and I hope I get more of these good picks!

 

Packed on a Friday night.

Tiong Bahru Bakery
252 North Bridge Road, #B1-11/12 Raffles City Shopping Centre, Singapore
6333 4160
Open daily from 11am – 10pm

Leave a Reply

