Tim Ho Wan @ Plaza Singapura

So I come back to Singapore and I have one million and one cravings, but one thing that calls out to me is D-I-M S-U-M. I am always up for good dimsum and Tim Ho Wan, being the new player on the block, is something that everyone wants to try! Off we go.

We got all 4 of the highly raved items, known as the 4 Heavenly Kings:

IMG_1692

Baked Bun with BBQ Pork ($4.50). Nothing to fault – the sweet crusty top and soft bun that breaks open to reveal fragrant and tasty BBQ pork! Always a delight. I wouldn’t queue JUST for this though, I feel like Imperial Treasure’s version is the same standard as this!

IMG_1694

Steamed Egg Cake ($3.80). This is one of the tastier renditions I’ve had in all my eating of dimsum over the years. Fluffy and light texture, strong hints of gula melaka (I love gula melaka and I’m so glad the flavour is so apparent!!) and just very satisfying.

IMG_1695

Pan Fried Carrot Cake ($4.50). This is pretty normal and I don’t remember much of it, but it isn’t a bad version too.

IMG_1696

Chee Cheong Fun with Liver ($5.50). I actually do eat everything and I enjoy new fillings in my cheong fun so I was looking forward to this but the liver didn’t seem to have much taste and was a little too chewy.

IMG_1691

Beancurd Skin Roll with Pork & Shrimp ($4). I liked this! Crisp thin beancurd skin layers with succulent filling on the inside.

IMG_1690

Steamed Teochew Dumpling ($4). They’re not stingy with their filling and this was tasty too! It’s great when you need a change from the many pork and shrimp things that dimsum offers.

IMG_1689

Glutinous Rice Dumpling ($5). I liked this quite a bit too! Eating it is like opening a parcel and discovering many surprises along the way. It is filled with chicken, mushroom, Chinese sausages and is so so moist and flavourful! It is very filling though make sure you share.

IMG_1688

Steamed Rice with Chicken, Sausage & Mushroom ($6). I don’t know what we were thinking because this is almost the same thing as Glutinous Rice and we were so full. It’s good, the rice is fragrant and very tasty from all the flavours of the ingredients. But I don’t think it’s worth the price and I’ll pick the Glutinous Rice.

IMG_1693

Chicken Feet with Black Bean Sauce ($4). Bf is big fan of this and he says this was flavourful and satisfying to munch on.

IMG_1697

And.. rounding off with Tonic Medlar & Osmanthus Petal Cake ($3.50). Thought this would be a light and refreshing end to the meal, but it was waaaay too sweet and sugary for me. I’d prefer something with stronger ‘tonic’ flavours, but the jelly slides down your throat, which is a nice feeling haha.

All in all, the queues during lunch/ weekends are still absolutely crazy and there are many good dim sum places around Singapore, so I wouldn’t especially queue here. But! The food here definitely has more hits than misses and will be a satisfying dim sum meal at affordable prices if you know what to pick 🙂 Enjoy!! I love dim sum!

Leave a Reply

