Ah Loy Thai, Tom’s Palette @ Shaw Towers

One thing I didn’t manage to have while away was good/ affordable Thai food. Naturally, when I got back I decided to visit one of my old Thai comfort food places. Simple place, not fancy, but good stuff! I don’t think it’s as good as before, sadly, but I haven’t tried any better ones yet. Still worth going! Recommendations? I heard quite a bit about Jai Thai, maybe I’ll go there soon!

IMG_1785 Glass noodles with seafood – this is a decent portion with lots of ingredients to get you through the plate.

IMG_1782 Tom Yum Seafood. This has some kick! Papaya Salad was decent too, hints of chilli, the mix of salty fish sauce and sour papaya, familiar tastes!

IMG_1784 Butter Calamari which I used to love, but was lukewarm, chewy and tough when I had it this time. Disappoint!

IMG_1786

 

And I ALWAYS end off a meal at Ah Loy’s with Tom’s Palette! It’s one of the better ice-cream places in Singapore. They’re really consistent with the smooth, rich quality of the ice-cream and they have some of the most fun flavours ever. Salted Egg Yolk is on their menu! Some people hate it, but I love it. Considering that, I had rather mild flavours that day – Chocolate Stout and Green Tea. Too pampered by the gelatos in Italy, but this was still a good end to my meal. Satisfied!

Ah Loy Thai
100 Beach Road, #01-39/40
Shaw Towers
Singapore 189702
9165 1543
Opening hours: 12pm to 8pm
Closed on Sundays and public holiday

Tom’s Palette
100 Beach Road, #01-25
Shaw Towers
Singapore 189702
6296 5239
Mon-Thurs 12-9.30pm Fri-Sat 12-10pm
Sunday 1-7pm (Closed on the last Sunday of the month)

Leave a Reply

