Riders Cafe @ Bukit Timah Saddle Club

Good morning! My Riders Cafe date with my brother finally happened after we had to postpone it one too many times for a whole range of reasons. Glad we came here on a weekday. The brunch menu is more limited on a weekday but the pace is definitely more relaxed and you are transported into a world that moves at a more leisurely pace.

I’ve been to Riders quite a few times and I always love to come here because:

1) It is EXTREMELY near to my house! 😀 Although inaccessible by public transport.

2) Of it’s special ambience – have breakfast while watching horses trot around

3) Of consistency of food and service. Standard hasn’t really changed all these years, and it’s so easy for places to increase their prices or reduce their portions after a while. They used to have French Toast that was made with brioche and drenched in maple syrup but they didn’t have it when I was back this time! Also had a curried crab brioche before, all of which was very delish.

This was one of those rare days where I decided to bring my camera out for an excursion. We were sitting at the balcony, as close to the horses as you can get, so sunlight was streaming in and I was very pleased with the photos!

IMG_1927

Coffeeeees. Now that I’m starting to learn about coffees and how to make coffees, I find myself becoming more critical of coffee outside LOL not like I’m in a superb position to critique or anything. (Sidetrack again: so glad I’m learning new things on the job constantly! Glad I’ve somewhere to hone my skills, sorry again for serving lousy cups of coffee). Coffee was alright, not the best I’ve had, but still rather decent. I say skip the coffees and go for dessert.

IMG_1938

Brother’s Blackstone Benedict with Bacon & Tomatoes, Poached Eggs & Hollandaise on rustic Sourdough ($15). Now that my foooodie friends and I have actually gotten down to cooking brunch ourselves, we’re on some sort of ‘boycott brunch’ plan because it’s ‘overpriced’ and ‘so easy to make!!!’. Despite all that, this was an enjoyable version, with perfectly runny eggs, homemade hollandaise, juicy tomatoes and crisp bacon.

IMG_1936

‘The Usual’ with Eggs, Back Bacon, Breakfast Banger, Mushrooms, Tomato & Brioche ($18). Riders is about quality and it really shows. The mushrooms aren’t the cheap sort, it’s the tasty sort. The sausage is also very plump and meaty. Scrambled eggs were good – milky and creamy!

IMG_1935

 

More photos just because the lighting was so goood

IMG_1939

Death by Chocolate Cake ($12). LOVE THIS! The chocolate cake sitting in this pool of melted chocolate. It looks so dull and black, won’t look good on Instagram, but LOOKS ARE DECEIVING. I love how it isn’t too sweet, love how the chocolate everywhere complements the drier cake, and the quality vanilla ice-cream for a change of flavour!

IMG_1943

 

And then after you are done with your huge meal you can head out for a nice walk 🙂

This is a real wordy post but I like this place! After all these years, it’s still a reliable place to go to for good ambience and enjoyable food. Make your bookings!

Riders Cafe
51 Fairways Drive
Bukit Timah Saddle Club
6466 9819
Closed on Mondays
Sunday to Thursday: 8am – 9pm
Friday & Saturday: 8am – 10pm

2 responses to “Riders Cafe @ Bukit Timah Saddle Club

  1. Pingback: Riders Cafe @ Bukit Timah Saddle Club | OMG I'M SO HUNGRY·

  2. Pingback: 10 Extremely Attractive Chocolate Desserts in Singapore - SINGAPORE NOW·

Leave a Reply

