The Sushi Bar @ Far East Plaza – Best/ Most Value for Money Chirashi in Singapore

OKAY I have something to admit. I’ve been VERY extreme and I ate at this place at least 6 times within the span of 5 months. K it doesn’t sound that extreme but I usually like trying new places, but I’ve been back just to eat the chirashi OVER AND OVER AGAIN.

And it’s been nothing but thick, fresh, well-cut slices of sashimi atop a generous helping of tasty sushi rice. Some days the rice is a little more sticky, some days the sashimi isn’t tip-top perfect, but the standard is generally consistent.

AND ITS ONLY $24.90.

2013-10-25 17.28.45

TAMAGO, SWORDFISH, SALMON, IKURA, YELLOW TAIL, SCALLOP AND ABURI SALMON. The astonishing variety makes me want to cry every time this arrives at my table. Really, you wouldn’t get portions this generous anywhere else.

I hope I’ve convinced you to have chirashi here. Or that you were already previously convinced.

Anyway, here are some other things my friends and I have tried:

2013-09-20 13.49.34

Instead of the basic chirashi that’s written on their menu, they have a mini version of the premium bara chirashi ($19.90). It has uni on it! It was good, but wasn’t as satisfying for me as the normal one is, so I’ll stick to that. But if you want to try some uni and not break the bank, get this!

2013-09-20 15.10.38

Scallop Mentaiyaki ($13.90). I love scallop sashimi for its natural sweetness, and topped with mentaiko sauce, lightly torched, this is one good way to start your meal there.

2013-09-20 15.10.58

2013-09-20 15.10.49

Salmon Aburi Sushi ($13.90). Salmon within, salmon on the outside. Love the variety of flavours in each bite-sized piece. Cold, freshs almon on the inside, slightly charred seared salmon on the outside with a tiny dollop of mayo. ACE!

The Sushi Bar
14 Scotts Road
Far East Plaza #03-89
Singapore 228213
9653 6464
Mon – Fri: 12.30pm-3pm, 5.30pm-9pm
Sat: 12.30pm-9pm
Leave a Reply

