The Lokal @ Neil Road – Hearty Brunch Fare

IMG_2006

This is a MUST-ORDER if you come here. Don’t dismiss it as “just banana bread”. More on that later.

I’ve enjoyed all my visits to The Lokal thus far. I like the laidback vibe, the way the space is set up and I enjoy the honest food that’s served here. Also, the chef has been very friendly to my brothers and me, and is very passionate about his food, two things which I’ll always appreciate!

IMG_1526

This visit was with the little one, who had a roast chicken ciabatta filled with bacon, guacamole and aioli. It’s the kind of thing my father tells us not to eat outside for because he can make it at home, but the little one gobbled it down so excitedly, I think he liked it. It was a sandwich well done, no doubt, with varied tastes and textures in each bite.

IMG_1527

I wanted to try something different on my second visit but I was dreaming of the roast beef on rye sandwich with whole grain mustard and watercress that I had on the first time. It was sooo good. Slices of warm, tender, well seasoned beef with pops of sweet caramelised onions in between. Best beeeeef sandwich I’ve had around!

IMG_1528

The amount of beef has been on the decline though….

IMG_2007

Beef again! More beef for you to admire!

IMG_1531

Sticky date pudding ~~~ loved this very much both times round.

IMG_2008

Didn’t realise how blur the photo was but it certainly doesn’t do justice to the french toast – sautéed apples, raisins, bacon and maple cream. Fluffy brioche, tons of gooey

IMG_2005

This is one jazzed-up banana bread that’s done so right I wouldn’t change any of the components/ won’t try to think of ways to outdo it. The banana bread itself is moist, dense and fragrant. It’s then slathered with homemade yoghurt that’s light on the palate, caramelised bananas, toasted macadamias and that bright, citrusy sprinkle of lime zest. There you go, a dish where everything goes so well with each other, and something I’d order everytime I come here. So good!

IMG_2009

Brunch time is a good choice here – and then you can explore the rest of the Keong Saik/ Tanjong Pagar area for more coffee, cakes and dessert. Lively food scene, Singapore!

The Lokal
136 Neil Road, Singapore 088865
+65 6423 9918
Mon: 8am-6pm
Tues-Fri: 8am-10.30pm
Sat: 9am-10.30pm
Sun: 9am-4pm

Leave a Reply

